Finland’s Presidency of the Council of the EU in 2019

Emblem of Finland's PresidencyFinland will hold the Presidency of the Council of the European Union from the beginning of July until the end of December 2019. The presidency is responsible for driving forward the Council's work on EU legislation, ensuring the continuity of the EU agenda and cooperation among member states. During the six-month period, Finland will chair meetings in the Council on three levels: Ministerial meetings, Coreper (permanent representative) meetings as well as meetings of working parties and experts.

Finland's Minister of Finance will chair the Economic and Financial Affairs Council (Ecofin), which is one of the Council configurations. Ecofin adopts EU legislation relevant to its remit, often in cooperation with the European Parliament. Its responsibilities also include coordinating the economic policies of member states. Ecofin is composed of the economics and finance ministers of the EU member states.

More information at EU2019.FI:

Presidency of the Council

Current EU issues

Finland to issue a two-euro commemorative coin
Press release 22.3.2007 12.37
Designs of euro coins will be amended in 2007
Press release 27.12.2006 9.43
The EU 2007 budget adopted
Press release 14.12.2006 14.29
EU Directors General meet in Helsinki
Press release 1.12.2006 12.59
Lisbon Strategy: Progress Report of Finland
Press release 12.10.2006 11.13
Informal Ecofin meeting in Helsinki
Press release 9.9.2006 9.54
Ecofin Council discussed VAT package
Press release 5.5.2006 11.39
Ecofin Council: focus on growth and employment
Press release 10.3.2006 11.30
Ecofin Council to discuss reduced rates of VAT
Press release 2.12.2005 10.15