Ministerial Working Group on Developing the Digital Transformation, the Data Economy and Public Administration

The ministerial working group’s task is to guide the development of digitalisation, information and technology policy and the data economy, and to coordinate related activities and situational awareness. The group will coordinate the development projects and draw up the necessary policy guidelines on the sector’s key development measures.

The ministerial working group will prepare policy guidelines for

  • public administration development strategies and the implementation of related programmes
  • work to improve productivity in the public sector
  • preparation of local government policy guidelines
  • the preparedness of public administration
  • advancement of technology policy, digital services and the data economy
  • information policy management, and
  • cybersecurity.

An interministerial working group on digitalisation and data economy operates in connection with the ministerial working group. This coordination group is responsible for cooperation between the ministries and for promoting digital transformation and the data economy. It also serves as a single point of contact for inquiries related to the data, digital and information policy.

Ministerial working group

The ministerial working group will be chaired by Minister of Local Government Sirpa Paatero in matters concerning public administration. In other matters, Minister of Transport and Communications Timo Harakka will serve as Chair until March 2022, followed by Minister of Economic Affairs Mika Lintilä until the end of September 2022. After this, Minister Paatero will serve as Chair in all matters for the remainder of the term.

The other members of the group are Minister of Finance Annika Saarikko, Minister of Justice Anna-Maja Henriksson, Minister of the Interior Krista Mikkonen, and Minister of Social Affairs and Health Hanna Sarkkinen.

The secretariat of the ministerial working group consists of Susanna Huovinen, Permanent Under-Secretary for Governance Policy at the Ministry of Finance in governance policy matters; Laura Eiro, Director General at the Ministry of Transport and Communications in matters regarding digitalisation and the data economy; Jonna Korhonen, Deputy Director General at the Ministry of Education and Culture; Jarkko Levasma, Government Chief Information Officer and Director General at the Ministry of Finance; and Mika Nordman, Director of Digital Services at the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment. 

Contact information for the secretariat

Susanna Huovinen, Permanent State Under-Secretary, Ministry of Finance, tel. +358 295530199, [email protected]

Laura Eiro, Director General, Ministry of Transport and Communications, tel. +358 295342166, [email protected]

Jonna Korhonen, Deputy Director General, Ministry of Education and Culture, tel. +358 295330008, [email protected]

Jarkko Levasma, Government Chief Information Officer, Director General, Ministry of Finance, tel. +358 295530117, [email protected]

Mika Nordman, Director, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, tel. +358 295047142, [email protected]