Skip to content

Permanent Under-Secretary Tuomas Saarenheimo to take up EU post

Ministry of Finance
Publication date 7.2.2020 8.42 | Published in English on 7.2.2020 at 11.34
Press release
Tuomas Saarenheimo.

Permanent Under-Secretary Tuomas Saarenheimo from the Finnish Ministry of Finance has been elected as President of the Eurogroup Working Group and the Economic and Financial Committee.

The Eurogroup Working Group prepares the Eurogroup meetings. The Economic and Financial Committee contributes to the preparation of the Economic and Financial Affairs Council (Ecofin). The President works in the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union.

The new President was elected by the Eurogroup Working Group and the Economic and Financial Committee on Thursday 6 February. The Member States’ finance ministers will confirm the appointment later this month. The Eurogroup will meet on 17 February and the Ecofin Council on 18 February.

Saarenheimo has worked as Permanent Under-Secretary for International and Financial Markets since 2013. Prior to that, he served as Head of the Monetary and Research Policy Department and as Chief Adviser at the Bank of Finland. Saarenheimo has also been a member of the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Photos of Tuomas Saarenheimo for the media (Government Image Bank)


Tuomas Saarenheimo, Permanent Under-Secretary, tel. +358 2955 30350, tuomas.saarenheimo(at)

Economic Policy Financial markets Ministry Taxation